Benjamin Bloom (1956) developed a classification of levels of intellectual behaviour in learning. His taxonomy covers three domains: the cognitive, psychomotor, and affective.

Within the cognitive domain, he identified six levels: remembering (knowledge), understaning (comprehension), applying (application), analysis, synthesis, and evaluation.

All academic subjects, as well as chess, provide a simple and direct way to develop the three lower order thinking skillsRemembering, Understanding and Applying.

levels of intellectual

(Bloom’s Taxonomy is traditionally a pyramid, but in this rearranged version, creating, evaluating, and analyzing have been placed simultaneously at the top, because full inquiry in a next generation classroom requires simultaneous use of these skills.)


However, academic subjects rarely provide a way to teach any of those higher order skills – Analysing, Evaluating and Creating.

Those three skills – analysis, evaluation and creation – are all involved at every step of a chess game! It is a perfect description of chess playing.

Chess provides the perfect educational cutlery for teaching those higher order thinking skills, using a combination of both critical thinking and creative thinking.

Training Plans for ADHD

We have at your disposal different chess exercises specifically designed for the complementary treatment of ADHD.

These exercises are grouped into three different Cognitive Training Plans

know our training plans
ADHD chess train your mind


People diagnosed with ADHD frequently present some of these characteristics:

  • Get easily distracted

  • Rush to answer before the question has been completed

  • Are disorganized and have a lack of autonomy

  • Have difficulty organizing information

Our Training Plans based on chess are an efficient tool to improve these aspects.

Choose the right Training Plan for you